A free AI app builder turns a plain-language prompt into working software at no upfront cost. Three different things get sold as "free" in 2026: a free-forever plan (no card, no expiry, capped usage), a credit-capped free tier (a daily or monthly allowance that resets), and a free trial (full features for a fixed window, then a bill). Almost every major AI app builder is the first two combined, free forever but metered.
In 2026 there are dozens of them, and almost all advertise the same promise: type a prompt, get an app, pay nothing. The catch is that "free" means very different things from one tool to the next, and the difference that decides everything is source code ownership: whether you can export the code, own it outright, self-host it, and leave without a rebuild.
We checked the actual free-plan terms on every major vendor's own pricing page and documentation on August 25, 2026, and the headline finding is not the one the marketing pages suggest: on most leading AI app builders, exporting your source code is a paid feature, not a free one. Lovable's own Git documentation puts "Download codebase" behind paid plans. Base44 gates GitHub sync to its Builder tier. Totalum puts code download, GitHub and custom domains on Starter. The one major exception we could verify is v0, which lists GitHub sync on its free plan and then caps you at 7 messages per day.
This guide gives you the verified numbers, a dedicated code-ownership and export comparison table, and a checklist for picking a free AI app builder that will not trap you the moment you get traction. If you want the wider view, it is worth checking which AI app builders generate real code you own.
You can also run one yourself: here is how to build your own AI app builder from an open-source Next.js starter and a free API key.
If you are weighing paid tiers next, the Lovable pricing 2026 guide explains what the free plan does and does not cover.
Many of the best free options are also open source and self-hostable, which you can compare in our guide to open source AI app builders.

If you are building a company rather than a side project, compare the trade-offs in our AI app builder for startups guide.
If you are building a SaaS beyond the free tier, our ranking of the best AI app builder for SaaS in 2026 weighs production-readiness and API plus MCP embedding against price.
If Bolt is on your shortlist, our Bolt.new pricing 2026 guide explains what the free tier really covers before you hit the daily cap.
Quick Answer
A free AI app builder is a tool that turns a plain-language prompt into working software at no upfront cost, usually under a monthly credit cap. The question that actually decides which one to use is not how many free credits you get, it is whether the free tier lets you own and export the generated source code. On most 2026 platforms it does not: code export, GitHub sync, and custom domains are the features vendors reserve for their cheapest paid tier.
- Which free AI app builder lets you own and export the code? Verified on August 25, 2026: v0's free plan is the only major one that lists GitHub sync as a free feature, capped at 7 messages per day and $5 of monthly credits, and it is front-end first. Lovable, Base44 and Totalum all gate source-code download to a paid plan. Lovable's Git documentation states plainly that Download codebase is for paid plans; Base44 lists GitHub integration starting at its Builder tier ($40 per month); Totalum unlocks code download, GitHub and a custom domain on Starter ($29 per month).
- The cheapest verified path to owned, exportable production code among builders that generate a real backend is Totalum's Starter plan at $29 per month, which includes editing and downloading the full source, GitHub connection, and a custom domain on every project. Base44's equivalent GitHub tier is $40 per month.
- Totalum's free tier is 50 credits per month and 2 projects, and it generates a real, production-grade Next.js application with a built-in database and authentication, plus API, MCP and white-label access on every plan including the free one. It is genuinely free to build and prove the idea; downloading the source and shipping it on your own domain are on paid plans.
- Most free tiers build prototypes, not production apps. A real backend, database, authentication, and a custom domain are frequently the exact things that move behind the paywall, so check which side of that line your free tier sits on before you invest hours.
- Free credit allowances are small and getting smaller. Lovable grants 5 build credits per day (up to 30 per month), Base44 gives 25 message credits per month across up to 5 apps, Bolt.new allows 300,000 tokens per day and 1 million per month, and v0 allows 7 messages per day.
- Is it free forever, or a free trial? Both models exist and vendors run them side by side. Softr's pricing FAQ states plainly "Our Free plan is free forever", and Softr separately offers a no-credit-card trial of the paid features on top of it. Totalum, Lovable, Base44, Bolt.new and v0 all run free-forever plans metered by credits. None of the major AI app builders in this guide asks for a credit card to start.
- Is there a free AI app builder with unlimited credits? No major one, and that is pricing physics rather than a gap in the market: every prompt costs the vendor model inference. The 2026 allowances are 50 credits per month on Totalum, 25 message credits per month on Base44, 5 build credits per day on Lovable, 7 messages per day on v0, 300,000 tokens per day on Bolt.new, and 5 AI credits per month on Softr. What some free plans do make unlimited is the number of projects, not the amount of generation.
- Pick for where you are going, not just where you start. Choose a builder whose free work carries forward into a real product on a mainstream stack, so upgrading is a billing decision rather than a rebuild.
What "free" actually means in an AI app builder
The word "free" hides four very different business models, and vendors often run two of them at once. Knowing which one you signed up for saves you from a nasty surprise later.
Free forever, metered by credits. The plan never expires and never asks for a card, but you get a fixed allowance of credits or messages that resets daily or monthly. You build until the meter runs out, then you wait for the reset or upgrade. This is the dominant model in 2026 because AI generation costs the vendor real money on every prompt. Softr says it outright in its pricing FAQ: "Our Free plan is free forever."
Time-limited free trial. A separate offer that unlocks paid features for a fixed window and then stops. Softr gives every new signup a trial with no credit card required, on top of its free-forever plan, and lets you extend it once. A trial is not a free tier, and treating the two as the same thing is how people lose a build.
Freemium prototype. The tool is free to design and preview, but your app lives on a shared subdomain, often with a watermark, and cannot be moved. Great for a demo, weak for a launch.
Free to build, paid to ship. You can generate and edit for free, but the moment you want a real database, real logins, hosting, or a custom domain, those sit on a paid plan. This is the honest version of freemium, and it is the model most serious builders end up on.
| Model | Does it expire? | Credit card to start? | What runs out | Typical 2026 example |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free forever, metered by credits | No | No | Credits or messages, reset daily or monthly | Totalum 50 credits per month, Lovable 5 build credits per day, v0 7 messages per day |
| Time-limited free trial | Yes, on a fixed date | Usually no | The whole plan | Softr's signup trial, extendable once |
| Freemium prototype | No | No | Nothing runs out, but the app cannot be moved | Design-first and platform-hosted tools |
| Free to build, paid to ship | No | No | Nothing to build with, but shipping is gated | Code export, custom domain and real backend on paid |
None of these is dishonest by itself. The problem starts when a tool markets "build for free" and quietly makes the things you need to launch, code export, a real backend, a custom domain, into the paywall. So the useful question is not "is it free" but "what does the free tier let me keep and grow."
The best free AI app builders in 2026
Here is an honest rundown of the tools people actually mean when they search for a free AI app builder. Free-tier terms change often, so treat this as a map and verify current limits on each vendor's pricing page before you commit.
Totalum
Totalum is an AI app builder that turns a prompt into a real, production-grade Next.js app with a built-in database, authentication, an admin CMS, and file storage. Per its pricing page on August 25, 2026, the free tier gives you 50 credits per month and 2 projects, plus API, MCP and white-label access, which are included on every plan including the free one. The honest framing is free to build, paid to own and ship: editing and downloading the full source code, connecting GitHub, and attaching your own custom domain start on the Starter plan at $29 per month, and apply to every project on that plan. What makes the upgrade cheap in practice is what the free tier produces: a real Next.js codebase with a genuine backend, not a sandboxed prototype, so nothing has to be rebuilt when you pay. It is a peer to Lovable, Bolt, Replit, and v0, and it can also be driven from your own AI agent over MCP or REST API.
Base44
Base44 offers a free plan that lets you start prompting an app without a credit card, and it appears prominently in Google's own AI Overview for this query. Its pricing page on August 25, 2026 lists the free plan as 25 message credits per month, 100 integration credits per month, and up to 5 apps, with core features including authentication, database functionality and analytics. Base44's FAQ states that you own everything you build and that two-way GitHub sync exports the full source to your own repo. The detail worth knowing is that GitHub integration is listed as a plan highlight from the Builder tier upward ($40 per month), not on Free or Starter, so the export path itself is a paid feature.
Figma Make
Figma Make generates interactive, data-connected app prototypes from prompts inside Figma. It is excellent for product teams and designers who want to go from idea to a clickable, testable interface quickly. It leans toward prototyping and design validation rather than shipping a standalone production backend.
Replit
Replit turns natural language into working applications in an online IDE and has a free Starter tier to get started. If Replit itself is the tool you are trying to move off rather than onto, our ranking of the best replit alternative options in 2026 compares the same field on free tiers and monthly-billed price. Its pricing page on August 25, 2026 lists that free tier as free daily agent credits, a built-in database, and 1 published live project. Because you are in a real coding environment, you have more direct access to the source than in a pure no-code tool, at the cost of a slightly steeper learning curve. Removing the "Made with Replit" badge and getting more agent usage start on Core at $25 per month.
Glide
Glide builds custom, AI-assisted business apps, often on top of a spreadsheet or simple database, with a free plan to try it. It is strong for internal tools and lightweight business apps with a drag-and-drop feel, and less suited to a fully custom, code-owned product.
Google AI Studio
Google AI Studio lets you build apps via chat and, per Google's own guidance, deploy a small number of apps to Google Cloud Run without a billing account. It is a genuinely free path to a live app if you are comfortable inside Google Cloud, and it ties you to that ecosystem.
Bolt, Lovable, and v0
These prompt-to-app tools all have free entry points and are popular for spinning up a front end fast. Verified on their own pricing pages on August 25, 2026:
- Bolt.new free: 300,000 tokens per day and 1 million per month, public and private projects, website hosting, unlimited databases, a 10MB file upload limit, and Bolt branding on your site. Custom domain support starts on Pro at $25 per month.
- Lovable free: a daily grant of 5 build credits (up to 30 per month), plus 20 Cloud credits per month and 4 credits for in-app AI features. Lovable's pricing FAQ is unambiguous that you own your code, but its Git documentation states that Download codebase is available on paid plans.
- v0 free: $5 of included monthly credits, a 7 message per day limit, deployment to Vercel, visual Design Mode, and GitHub sync included on the free plan. That makes v0 the clearest verified answer to "free AI app builder that lets me export the code," with the caveat that it is front-end first and the daily message cap is tight.
All three are prototype-first by design: you typically get a great-looking interface quickly, then reach for external services like Supabase or Firebase to add a real backend.
Free AI app builder comparison table
The table below compares the free tiers on the dimensions that actually decide whether your work survives to launch. "Own and export code" and "real backend on free" are the two columns most listicles skip, and they are the ones that matter most. Every figure was checked against the vendor's own pricing page or documentation on August 25, 2026.
| Tool | What the free tier gives you | Own and export code | Real backend, DB, and auth | Custom domain on free | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Totalum | 50 credits per month, 2 projects, real Next.js app with built-in DB and auth | No, download starts on Starter ($29 per month) | Yes, built in on free | No, on paid plans | Building a real product you own |
| Base44 | 25 message credits per month, 100 integration credits, up to 5 apps | No, GitHub sync starts on Builder ($40 per month) | Yes, auth, DB and analytics | No, starts on Starter | Fast hosted MVPs |
| Figma Make | Free interactive, data-connected prototypes | Design-focused, not source export | No, prototype-focused | Not applicable | Design and product validation |
| Replit | Free daily agent credits, built-in database, 1 published live project | Yes, it is a real code environment | Built-in database | On paid plans | Builders who want code control |
| Glide | Free plan for AI-assisted business apps | No, platform-hosted | Light data layer | On paid plans | Internal tools and simple apps |
| Google AI Studio | Deploy a couple of apps to Cloud Run free | Tied to Google Cloud | Via Google Cloud | Via Google Cloud | Google-ecosystem builders |
| Bolt.new | 300K tokens per day, 1M per month, hosting, Bolt branding | Not stated on the pricing page | Unlimited databases | No, Pro at $25 per month | Quick hosted front ends |
| Lovable | 5 build credits per day (max 30 per month), 20 Cloud credits | No, Download codebase is paid plans per its Git docs | Cloud grants on free | On paid plans | Fast, polished prototypes |
| v0 | $5 monthly credits, 7 messages per day, deploy to Vercel | Yes, GitHub sync is on the free plan | External services needed | Deploy to Vercel on free | Exporting code on a free tier |
Which free AI app builder lets you own and export the code?
This is the question the free-tier comparisons almost never answer, so we checked every vendor's own pricing page and documentation directly on August 25, 2026. The result is worth stating plainly: source code export is a paid feature on most leading AI app builders, even the ones whose marketing leads with code ownership.
Owning your code and exporting your code are two different claims, and vendors routinely make the first while gating the second. Lovable's pricing FAQ says "Who owns the projects and code? You do." Its Git documentation then says the Download codebase button is for paid plans. Base44's FAQ says "Two-way GitHub sync exports the full source code to your own repo at any time," while its plan matrix lists GitHub integration starting at Builder. Neither statement is dishonest. They simply answer different questions, and only one of them determines whether you can walk away.
Lovable is the tool most people are comparing against when they land on this question, and the free tier is only half of that comparison. Our guide to the best Lovable alternatives in 2026 puts the monthly-billed entry price, the runtime, and the code-ownership answer for ten builders in one table, all re-verified from vendor pricing pages on September 4, 2026.
| Builder | Free tier, verified August 25, 2026 | Export source on the free tier | Custom domain on free | Cheapest plan that unlocks export |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| v0 | $5 monthly credits, 7 messages per day, deploy to Vercel, Design Mode | Yes, GitHub sync listed on Free | Deploys to Vercel | Included on Free |
| Replit | Free daily agent credits, built-in database, 1 published live project | Yes, it is a real IDE workspace | No, 1 published project | Core, $25 per month, removes the badge |
| Totalum | 50 credits per month, 2 projects, real Next.js app with DB and auth, API, MCP and white-label | No | No | Starter, $29 per month, edit and download code, GitHub and custom domain on every project |
| Base44 | 25 message credits per month, 100 integration credits, up to 5 apps, auth and DB | No, GitHub integration starts at Builder | No, starts at Starter | Builder, $40 per month |
| Lovable | 5 build credits per day (max 30 per month), 20 Cloud credits per month | No, Download codebase is paid plans per its Git docs | Cloud grants on free | A paid plan, per its Git documentation |
| Bolt.new | 300,000 tokens per day, 1M per month, hosting, unlimited databases, Bolt branding | Not stated on its pricing page | No | Pro, $25 per month, adds custom domain support |
Three practical conclusions follow from this table.
If you need source code export at zero cost, v0 is the verified answer, and you should go in knowing the trade: 7 messages per day, and a front-end-first tool that expects you to bring your own backend. For a weekend component or a landing page that is fine. For a product with users, logins and data, it is not.
If you need a real backend as well as ownership, the honest question is not "which one is free" but "what is the cheapest plan that ends the vendor lock-in." Among builders that generate a genuine backend, that is Totalum's Starter at $29 per month against Base44's Builder at $40 per month. Roughly the price of two coffees a month decides whether your codebase is portable.
Judge the free tier by what it produces, not only by what it lets you take. A free tier that generates a real Next.js codebase with a database and authentication carries forward intact when you upgrade, because paying converts an existing app into an exportable one. A free tier that generates a sandboxed prototype has to be rebuilt no matter what you pay, and no export button fixes that. That is the real difference between a free trial of a production tool and a free prototype you will throw away.
What about Softr, Glide and Bubble?
These three come up constantly in free app-builder searches, and they belong to a different class: platform-hosted no-code builders rather than code generators. There is no source code to export from any of them, which makes the ownership question moot rather than answered. Their pricing pages were checked directly on September 5, 2026.
| Builder | Free tier, verified September 5, 2026 | Export source on the free tier | Custom domain on free | Cheapest paid plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Softr | Free forever: 5 AI credits per month, unlimited apps, databases, workflows, agents and forms, Softr API and MCP, 500 workflow actions per month, 38 integrations | No, platform-hosted | No, custom domain starts on Basic | Basic, $19 per month billed annually ($25 month to month) |
| Glide | Free: 2 team members, 10 projects, integrations, limited credits | No, platform-hosted | Not on the free plan | Basic, $25 per month, 100 credits and 2 published apps |
| Bubble | Free: development version only, 50,000 workload units per month, 1 app editor, API connector, 6 hours of server logs | No, proprietary app format | No, a live site and custom domain start on Starter | Starter, $59 per month billed annually |
The pattern is consistent across the class. Platform-hosted builders give you a generous free workspace and no exit: Bubble's free plan does not even publish a live site, and Softr's unlimited apps all live on Softr. Code generators such as Totalum, Replit, v0, Lovable, Bolt.new and Base44 give you a smaller free allowance and, on a paid plan, a codebase you can take anywhere. Which trade is right depends entirely on whether you are building a permanent internal tool or a product you intend to own.
The three traps hidden in most free tiers
If a free AI app builder disappoints, it is almost always because of one of these three traps.
1. You do not own the code
Many hosted builders never hand you the source, and several that do reserve the export button for paying customers. Your app runs, but only inside their platform. If pricing changes, the company pivots, or you outgrow the tool, you cannot take your work with you and you rebuild from scratch. Source code ownership is the single biggest protection against vendor lock-in, which is why it is the first column to check, and why the ability to export the code, self-host it, and eject from the platform entirely is worth more than any credit allowance.
Be precise about the wording when you evaluate a tool. "You own your code" is a legal statement about intellectual property. "You can export your code" is a product statement about a button that may or may not exist on your plan. As the verified table above shows, several vendors make the first claim on their free tier while gating the second one, so read both the pricing matrix and the documentation before you assume you can leave.
2. Free builds prototypes, not production
A demo that looks like an app is not the same as software real users can log into, pay through, and rely on. The prototype-first tools are fast and impressive, but real authentication, a real database, payments, and hosting are what turn a prototype into a product, and those are frequently the features reserved for paid plans. Know which side of that line your free tier sits on.
3. Free ends exactly when you get traction
The credit or usage cap on a free tier is calibrated to let you build a little and then stop. That is fine while you are exploring. It becomes a problem when your app starts working and every improvement burns credits you no longer have. Plan for the upgrade point up front so success does not stall you.
Base44's free plan is a clear example of the cap trap: per its pricing page on August 25, 2026 it allows 25 message credits per month across a maximum of 5 apps, which we detail in our Base44 pricing guide. v0's 7 messages per day is the same trap in a different unit.
How to pick a free AI app builder that will not trap you
Run any candidate through this quick checklist before you invest hours in it:
- Can I download and own the generated code, and on which plan? Check the pricing matrix and the docs, not the marketing page. If export is on a paid tier, price that tier in now, because it is the real cost of not being locked in.
- Can I self-host what I export, or does the code only run on the vendor's infrastructure? A codebase you cannot host elsewhere is an export in name only.
- Does the free tier produce a real backend, database, and login, or only a front-end prototype?
- What exactly moves behind the paywall, hosting, a custom domain, more credits, and can I afford that when I am ready to launch?
- Will my free work carry forward, or will I have to rebuild it in a different tool to go live?
- Is the output built on a mainstream stack (like Next.js) that a developer could later extend, rather than a closed proprietary format?
A free AI app builder that scores well on ownership and a real backend is worth more than one with a bigger credit allowance, because it protects the time you are about to spend.
Where Totalum fits
Totalum is built for the person who wants the speed of a free AI app builder without the vendor lock-in. On the free tier you describe your idea and Totalum generates a real, production-grade Next.js application with frontend, backend, database, admin CMS, and authentication included, on 50 credits per month across 2 projects. API, MCP and white-label access are included on every plan, including the free one, so you can drive the builder from your own AI agent without paying anything. Your data lives in a secure database with automatic hourly backups in the European Union.
The honest boundary is this: building a real app is free, while downloading the source, connecting GitHub, and attaching a custom domain start on the Starter plan at $29 per month, and once you are on a paid plan they apply to every project rather than being metered per app. Builder at $59 per month adds more credits and projects on top. That is the "free to build, paid to own and ship" model, stated plainly, and it is the same model Lovable and Base44 run, at a lower price than Base44's GitHub tier.
The difference from prototype-first tools is not the paywall, since almost everyone has one. It is what sits behind it. What Totalum's free tier generates is a real Next.js application with a genuine backend from day one, so the upgrade converts an app you already have into one you can export, self-host and take anywhere. With a prototype-first tool, paying gets you a longer leash on a demo you will still have to rebuild for production. If you are comparing options, our guides to the best AI app builder in 2026 and what makes a production-ready AI app builder go deeper on that distinction, and if you are weighing the popular prototype tools, see the Base44 alternative and Replit vs Totalum comparisons.
When should you upgrade from a free AI app builder?
The free tier is for proving the idea. You should plan to upgrade at three clear moments, and knowing them in advance keeps a paywall from catching you off guard.
- When you need it live on your own domain. A shared subdomain is fine for feedback, but real users, real trust, and search visibility need your own custom domain, which almost always sits on a paid plan.
- When real people start logging in and paying. The moment your app holds real accounts, real data, and real transactions, you want dependable hosting, backups, and support rather than a build-only sandbox.
- When credits become the bottleneck on progress. If every iteration is rationed by a monthly credit cap, the cost of a paid plan is usually far smaller than the cost of stalled momentum.
The reason code ownership matters so much here is that upgrading should be a billing decision, not a rebuild. With a builder that hands you the source, moving from free to paid, or even off the platform entirely, never means starting over.
Emergent also offers a free tier; our Emergent vs Totalum breakdown compares what each free plan actually includes.
Weighing a Wix-owned option against a free-to-start owned-code builder? See Base44 vs Totalum for the full breakdown.
One popular free option is the local, open-source Dyad; see how it stacks up in Dyad vs Totalum.
FAQ
Is there a truly free AI app builder?
Yes, several tools including Totalum, Base44, Replit, Lovable, Bolt.new and v0 have genuinely free tiers, and none of them requires a credit card to start. What varies is what "free" covers and how quickly it runs out. Typical 2026 allowances are 50 credits per month on Totalum, 25 message credits per month on Base44, 5 build credits per day on Lovable, 7 messages per day on v0, and 300,000 tokens per day on Bolt.new. Most then charge for source-code export, production hosting, a custom domain, or higher usage. A truly free, forever-unlimited production app is rare because AI generation and hosting cost the vendor money on every single use.
Which free AI app builder lets me export the code?
Verified on vendor pricing pages and documentation on August 25, 2026: v0 is the only major AI app builder that lists GitHub sync on its free plan, limited to 7 messages per day and $5 of monthly credits. Replit's free Starter tier is a real IDE workspace, so you have direct access to the code. Lovable, Base44 and Totalum all place source-code download behind a paid plan: Lovable's Git documentation states Download codebase is for paid plans, Base44 lists GitHub integration from its Builder tier at $40 per month, and Totalum unlocks code download, GitHub and custom domains on Starter at $29 per month.
Which AI app builders let you export your source code on the free plan?
Verified on vendor pricing pages and documentation on August 25, 2026, only two of the major builders do. v0 lists GitHub sync on its free plan, capped at 7 messages per day and $5 of monthly credits, and it is front-end first. Replit's free tier is a real IDE workspace, so you have direct file access to the code. Everyone else gates it: Lovable's Git documentation states that Download codebase is for paid plans, Base44 lists GitHub integration from its Builder tier at $40 per month, and Totalum unlocks code download, GitHub and custom domains on Starter at $29 per month. Softr, Glide and Bubble have no source-code export on any plan, because they are platform-hosted rather than code generators.
What is the best free AI app builder in 2026 that lets me own and export the code?
If "free" is a hard constraint, v0 is the verified answer: it is the only major builder listing GitHub sync on its free plan, and you accept 7 messages per day and a front-end-first tool that expects you to bring your own backend. If you need a real backend as well as export rights, no free tier delivers both in 2026, and the honest answer becomes the cheapest plan that ends the lock-in: Totalum's Starter at $29 per month, which includes editing and downloading the full Next.js source, GitHub connection and a custom domain on every project, against Base44's Builder at $40 per month. Build free on Totalum's 50 monthly credits first, then convert that same app into an exportable one by upgrading, rather than rebuilding it elsewhere.
Is there a free forever AI app builder, and do I need a credit card?
Yes to the first, no to the second. Softr's pricing FAQ states "Our Free plan is free forever", and Totalum, Lovable, Base44, Bolt.new, v0, Replit and Glide all run free plans that do not expire and do not ask for a card at signup. What none of them offers is unmetered use: the plan is permanent, the credits are not. Watch for the separate free trial that several vendors run alongside the free plan, because that one does expire.
Is there a free AI app builder with unlimited credits?
Not among the major tools, and it is worth understanding why rather than continuing to look. Every generation costs the vendor model inference, so free allowances are metered everywhere: 50 credits per month on Totalum, 25 message credits per month on Base44, 5 build credits per day (30 per month maximum) on Lovable, 7 messages per day on v0, 300,000 tokens per day and 1 million per month on Bolt.new, and 5 AI credits per month on Softr. Some free plans are unlimited in a different dimension, such as Softr's unlimited apps and databases or Bubble's 50,000 monthly workload units, but the AI generation itself is always capped. Self-hosting an open-source builder against your own API key is the only genuinely uncapped route, and there you pay the model provider directly.
Can I own the code from a free AI app builder?
Owning and exporting are different things, and that distinction is where most people get caught. Several vendors state clearly that you own the intellectual property in what you generate, including on their free tiers. Lovable's pricing FAQ says "Who owns the projects and code? You do." Base44 says "You own everything you build." What that ownership does not guarantee is a working export path on your current plan. Before you build anything you intend to launch, confirm two separate things: that you own the output, and that your specific plan includes a download or GitHub sync button.
Is there a free AI app builder with no vendor lock-in?
Not fully, if you define lock-in strictly. On free tiers, the export path is usually the paid feature, so the realistic version of the question is which builder gets you out of lock-in most cheaply. Among builders that generate a real backend, the cheapest verified route on August 25, 2026 is Totalum's Starter plan at $29 per month, which includes editing and downloading the full source, GitHub, and a custom domain on every project, ahead of Base44's Builder tier at $40 per month. The second factor is whether what you export can be self-hosted at all: code on a mainstream stack like Next.js can be hosted anywhere, while a proprietary app format cannot, no matter what the export button is called.
What are the limits of Totalum's free plan?
Per Totalum's pricing page on August 25, 2026, the free plan includes 50 credits per month, 2 projects, and a limit of 1 new project every 5 minutes, with no additional team members. It includes Totalum AI, the Figma connection, and API, MCP and white-label access, which are available on every plan including the free one. Editing and downloading your code, connecting GitHub, attaching a custom domain, removing the "Made with Totalum" badge, and the admin CMS start on Starter at $29 per month.
Can I export the code from a free AI app builder?
Sometimes, and it is the single most important thing to check before you invest hours. As the comparison table above shows, most leading builders reserve source-code export for a paid tier even when the free tier is generous with credits. Read the plan matrix and the documentation rather than the marketing page, because the two often say different things.
What is the best free AI app builder for a real product?
For a real product you intend to launch and grow, choose a builder whose free tier generates a genuine backend on a mainstream stack, because that is the part you cannot retrofit later. Totalum generates a production-grade Next.js app with a built-in database, authentication and an admin panel on its free tier, so upgrading to export the source and ship it is a billing decision rather than a rebuild. Base44 and Replit also produce real backends on their free tiers. Prototype-first tools are better for quick demos than for a product you will maintain for years.
Do free AI app builders include a database and login?
Some do and some do not. Prototype-focused tools often generate a front end and expect you to connect an external service like Supabase for the database and authentication. Totalum includes the database, authentication, and an admin panel in the app it generates, so you are not wiring those up separately. Check this before you start, because it is a common hidden gap.
Which AI can build an app for free?
Any of the major AI app builders can, and they use different models under the hood: Totalum, Lovable, Bolt.new, Base44, v0 and Replit all turn a plain-language prompt into working software on a free tier. You can also drive a general AI assistant like ChatGPT or Claude to write code, but you then have to host, secure and wire up the database and authentication yourself. The practical difference is that an app builder gives you the surrounding infrastructure, while a chat assistant gives you files. Totalum sits between the two, since it is exposed over API and MCP so an assistant like Claude or ChatGPT can drive the builder directly.
Is a free AI app builder good enough to launch a startup?
To validate an idea and build the first version, yes. To launch and scale, you will almost always move to a paid plan for hosting, a custom domain, and higher usage. The smart move is to start on a free tier whose work carries forward, ideally one where you own the code, so your early build becomes the foundation of the real product instead of a throwaway prototype.
Ready to build with Totalum?
If you want a free AI app builder whose free work is a real application rather than a throwaway prototype, start building on Totalum. Describe your idea and get a production-grade Next.js app with a database, authentication, and an admin panel, on 50 free credits per month, with API and MCP access included. When you are ready to download the source, connect GitHub and ship on your own domain, Starter is $29 per month and covers every project you build. Start free at totalum.app.